Thoughts that every free spirit* has when they return to the motherland

I don’t know if you knew this but I went to New Zealand.  “I did not know this!” I hear you cry. It’s true, but I hardly ever mention it.  To be fair, I don’t; except on this blog which is my outlet for ranting/moaning/being a princess.

Being in New Zealand was the best time of my life.  With scenery like this, it’s not hard to see why.

img_4637
I mean, this was my actual view from work

I had everything I wanted and it was relatively easy to come by: a job, friends, my boyfriend, sunshine – it was all right there and life was lovely.  Of course, it came to an end eventually and I left New Zealand summer to return to rainy British winter. While it was fantastic to see my family and friends after nine months away there were several thoughts that I had on landing and returning to ‘normal life’ that I just can’t be alone in, yet, there was no-one around me in my situation to moan to.

  • [on landing] Perfect, it’s raining.  Thanks a lot. It was gorgeous sunshine when I left and look at that greyness
  • It’s cold too.
  • I can feel my tan fading already
  • I am so happy that I won’t have to carry this bag around anymore, it’s so heavy
  • It stinks too
  • WAIT, there’s a washing machine at home.  That I don’t have to pay for. That actually washes clothes
  • Well this is looking up.  Actual clean clothes
  • Come to think of it, there’s a shower too.  With hot water. I won’t have to wear flip-flops in it!
  • I’m so excited right now
  • [on seeing family/friends that have come to pick you up at the airport] I didn’t realise how much I missed them
  • Yes, admire my tan, thanks
  • Your car feels bigger than I remember.  Oh that’s because it isn’t full of stuff and food wrappers like I’m used to
  • [on the car radio] Wow they have this song abroad too.  What a small world
  • Traffic in New Zealand is sheep on the road.  Where have all the cars come from?
  • So sleepy.  Might just close my eyes…
  • YAY home already! That was quick
  • Oh, I slept all the way, soz
  • Was my bedroom always like this?
  • Ooooh look, my old wardrobe. More than five outfits to choose from!
  • The shower. I love being home. This is the best shower in the whole world
  • You made dinner? This is incredible, food that isn’t pasta? Why did I ever go away?!
  • So sleepy. Might just close my eyes…
  • Oh, I missed dinner
  • I missed dinner??!! NOOOOO
  • I just got back from seeing the world and all you’ve done is tell me about work. Seriously?
  • Ok it’s night-time, I should go to bed
  • I’ve never been more awake in my life
  • I’ll just message a few friends
  • They’re having a party without me? Well, I guess they would, I don’t live there anymore
  • I’m missing such a good time
  • My own space though, that’s good too
  • I can’t remember the last time I slept in a bed that wasn’t a bunk bed
  • I can sit up in it, this is great
  • I love having my own room
  • I miss having people around
  • Ah, morning, should probably get up
  • ARGH it’s 3pm!
  • All my friends are on a night out at the beach, waaaah
  • It’s raining. Standard. I hate British weather
  • No, I don’t have a plan for what to do now I’m back
  • Can I go back now?

And repeat the final three points over the coming days 😉

*I hate that phrase. My spirit is vodka and is definitely not free

Leave a Reply

